About Huazhong University of Science and Technology

Founded in 1952, The Huazhong University of Science and Technology (HUST) is a public, coeducational research university located in Wuhan, Hubei province, China. As a national key university, HUST is directly affiliated to the Ministry of Education of China. HUST manages Wuhan National Laboratories for Opto-electronics (WNLO) at Wuchang, which is one of the five national laboratories in China.

HUST is among the first Universities joining the national “211 Project” and “985 Project”. It was a result of merger on May 26, 2000 of the former Huazhong University of Science and Technology, Tongji Medical University and Wuhan Urban Construction Institute.

HUST is the home for 36,275 undergraduate students, 20,044 graduate & professional students, and  560 international students from all over the world. The university has eleven disciplines: engineering, medicine, management, science, philosophy, economics, law, education, literature, history and agriculture, offering a variety of degree programs, including 86 undergraduate programs, 303 graduate programs, 237 PhD programs. There are 31 post-doctoral research centers, 7 national key disciplines, 15 national key subdisciplines.

In 2016, US News and World Report ranked HUST 265th in the world and 10th in China. Wu Shulian ranked it 10th and Academic Ranking of World Universities ranked it the 8th-13th in China.